No turning back now!

The other day, Shawn and I finally bought our tickets. I felt a little sick to my stomach paying as much as I’ve ever paid for a car for a set of plane tickets, but afterwards I felt a sense of relief, and exhilaration- we’re actually going…in a little over a week! There’s no turning back now! Of course, there is still much to do- we need to start booking hotels and hostels in Madrid and Istanbul, arranging flights from London to Germany, shopping for travel insurance, packing (which is harder than it sounds for so long a trip), learning more about photoshop and running this site, fixing the house up, finding renters, storing our clothes and cars, getting our somewhat disappointing MacBook fixed, etc. One thing I’ve been meaning to get around to for years but keep getting cold-feet on is investing some of our money. If anybody has a hot tip, let us know. I figured the time between my job and the trip would be really relaxing, but the grass is always greener on the other side. I think in many ways, I actually had less stress when I was working. I think that’ll change once we’re on the move though.

We took some video and pictures while going to the airport to get the tickets. The online system isn’t equipped to handle a 20-stop trip, so they had to be hand-written into little 25 page booklets, 1970’s style. Fortunately it is on really thin paper, so we’ll be able to carry them in our little hidden pockets. I hope we don’t lose these- I’d have preferred an e-ticket

Speaking of security, we’re trying to make a few last gear decisions. We have a big 85L PacSafe that’ll cover one of our big packs. However, these things are really conspicuous and cumbersome. I’m considering getting the little 19L PacSafe Daypack, but the design of the pack is a little uncomfortable, and I was thinking we should probably be able to keep Shawn’s prescription drugs in a secure location as well, and this little daypack might not be quite big enough. I’m kind of toying with the idea of getting a high definition camcorder, too. There is a Canon high definition on Amazon.com for $650. That’s more than I’d normally spend for a camcorder, but I imagine if I bought it I’d really appreciate it down the road.

We’ll post some video and pictures to this post later. Until then….

-Adam

4 responses to “No turning back now!

  1. You guys are going to have a super fun time! Can’t wait to see all the pics as you start your journey. 🙂

  2. Investing tip: Vanguard Mutual Funds (low cost)…Check out http://www.diehards.org (Vanguard diehards)…They helped me tremendously and explained complex things very simply.

  3. Also, you took the plunge and got a MacBook? Let me know how it is. I am debating between this and an IBM ThinkPad T61.

  4. I think you two are off to a grand start!! What an adventure of a lifetime! Love the photos and the stories.
    We have Harvest Festival tonight and it’s perfect weather.
    have fun!

Leave a Reply

